USC Upstate Cleared for Active D-I Status

July 8, 2011 at 10:18 am

FGCU and USC Upstate Cleared for Active D-I Status, 7/7/2011

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Pending final approval from the Division I Board of Directors next month, Florida Gulf Coast University, Houston Baptist University, North Carolina Central University and the University of South Carolina Upstate will become active members of Division I as of Sept. 1.

The four institutions were among those whose provisional/reclassifying membership status was reviewed by the Division I Administration Cabinet at its June 29 meeting. The decisions aren’t final until the Board of Directors considers them at its Aug. 11 meeting.

The four schools were in the process of reclassifying to Division I when the Board implemented a membership moratorium in 2007 to study enhanced membership standards. Legislation establishing a new reclassification process was adopted earlier this year and becomes effective Aug. 1 when the moratorium expires.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference, now in its 33rd year, is an NCAA Division I conference committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts five of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.