Mu Rho Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing At USC Upstate Celebrates 20 Years Of Nursing Excellence

May 21, 2012 at 2:09 pm

The Mary Black School of Nursing at the University of South Carolina Upstate recently celebrated the 20th anniversary of its Mu Rho Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) Honor Society of Nursing with the induction of 36 nursing students and one community leader. The mission of the STTI is to support the learning, knowledge and professional development of nurses committed to making a difference in health worldwide. Membership is by invitation to baccalaureate and graduate nursing students who demonstrate excellence in scholarship and to nurse leaders exhibiting exceptional achievements in nursing.

The baccalaureate degree nursing student inductees include: Anne Elizabeth Adams, Valerie Lyn Atkison, Kristina Marie Austin, Rachel E. Banta, Kacie Lauren Blackwell, Tiffany Michelle Brannon, Hannah Ruth Caston, Zackery Dennis Cooper, Natalie Edwards, Caitlin Brooks Elliott, Brittany Ann Hamilton, Erin Heidi Herring, Elizabeth Hisashima, Jeremy Wayne Lark, Charlotte Glenn Lomas, Anna Elizabeth Malone, John Nicholas Mann, Chelsie Marie Miller, Jordan Emory Nash, Elizabeth Jane Pruett, Sharon Elizabeth Ross, Stacy Lee Savage, Eric Alan Titus, Kathryn Lee Wampole, and Sumaya Arlette Wilson.

The RN-Completion Track degree student inductees include: Philip David Benetatos, Lester Roloff Barrouk, Olivia Michelle Campbell, Judy Lynn Douglas, Kristina Dyar, Phyllis D. Johnson, Rebecca Anne Osborne, Colleen Gannon Parnell, Heather Lynn Pettit, Kira Lynne Robinson, and Shannon Mary Van Marter. Ashley Metcalf was inducted as a community leader.

Dr. Mary Martin, a former dean of the Mary Black School of Nursing at USC Upstate and founder/CEO of ECHO Healthcare Group, spoke at the ceremony. She provided a historical overview of the international honor society and inspired both new inductees and established members to realize ways the honor society has an impact on the future of nursing. She challenged them to pursue further education, engage in scholarly activity, and provide professional and community service.

USC Upstate applied to Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing on September 20, 1990. At that time, Dr. Olin B. Sansbury was chancellor of the university, Ms. Cecilia Cogdell was interim dean of the Mary Black School of Nursing, and Pam Koelbel was the president of the Honor Society. The Mu Rho Chapter received its charter and 101 members were inducted on March 8, 1992 with Dr. Billye J. Brown, past president of Sigma Theta Tau, as the installing officer.  Dr. Mary Martin was dean of the Mary Black School of Nursing at the time. The chapter has been honored to have had several international nurse leaders give presentations, including Dr. Faye Abdellah, Dr. Sara Fuller, and Dr. Jean Watson.

The Mu Rho Chapter currently has more than 230 active members and has consistently demonstrated scholarship, leadership, and research by mentorship activities, sponsoring and co-sponsoring scholarly conferences, and providing research and scholarship awards. In 2008, Mu Rho was awarded the Showcase of Regional Excellence for the conference, “Celebrating the Art and Science of Caring” when Dr. Jean Watson, internationally-known nurse theorist, was the keynote speaker. In 2009, Mu Rho received the Chapter Key Award, which is the highest award given to chapters.

For more information, contact Dr. Lynette M. Gibson at (864) 552-4254 or