May Day Picnic to Honor Retirees, Service Award Recipients

April 21, 2014 at 5:10 am

The Chancellor’s Office along with the Office of Human Resources will be host the annual May Day Picnic at noon Wednesday, May 7, 2014, under the tent on the quad.

The purpose of this event is to recognize our retirees as well as our state service award recipients who have reached a 10, 20, 30, or 40-year milestone in 2013 with the University and/or State of South Carolina.  We will announce our Classified Employee of the Year and also draw to select the winners of our United Way of the Piedmont Campaign contest.

Our retirees are:   Eris Bagwell, Financial Services; Ella Mae Bowers, Human Resources; John Cronin, George Dean Johnson, Jr., College of Business and Economics; Susan Hodge Irwin, Library Services; Gloria Norman, Facilities Management; Shirley Parton, Human Resources; Kenneth Pestka, Division of Math & Computer Sciences; Kaye Pope, Housing and Residential Life; Stephanie Swanger, Burroughs Child Development Center; Carol Tesh, Department of Informatics; Mary Theokas, Student Success Center; William (Bill) Word, George Dean Johnson, Jr. College of Business and Economics

Our 40-Year State Service Award recipient is:  Jerline Stewart, Burroughs Child Development Center

Our 30-Year State Service Award recipient is:  Vicky Easler, Postal Services

Our 20-Year State Service Award recipients are:  Carolyn Gossett, Department of Sociology, Criminal Justice and Women’s Studies; Rick Puncke, Facilities Management; Sandra Richards, Facilities Management; Phil Simons, Facilities Management; Ellen Towler, Counseling Services

Our 10-Year State Service Award recipients are:  Judy Beck, School of Education; Darrell Burns, Facilities Management; Brenda Cox, Facilities Management; Marcelle Elm, Mary Black School of Nursing; Louise Ericson, Student Success Center; Ron Fulbright, Department of Informatics; John Greer, Library Services; Mary Hightower, Department of Fine Arts and Communications Studies; Michael Hudak, Division of Mathematics and Computer Science; Lisa Johnson, Department of Sociology, Criminal Justice and Women’s Studies; Carol Loar, Department of History, political Science, Philosophy and American Studies, John Montemayor, Student Success Center; Paula Phelps, Bookstore; Kelly Waters, Division of Mathematics and Computer Science; Robert Xiong, Facilities Management, Lizabeth Zack, Department of Sociology, Criminal Justice and Women’s Studies

Please join us on the quad to recognize these employees. Lunch will be served from 12 – 1 p.m.  If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Sarah Gurley at ext. 7205.