USC Upstate Athletics to Induct Five into Hall of Fame, Jan. 17

January 9, 2015 at 1:50 pm

The USC Upstate Athletic Department will induct five new members into its Hall of Fame on Jan. 17 at a ceremony at 5:30 p.m. in the CLC Ballroom following the men’s basketball game against Northern Kentucky earlier in the day.

The Upstate Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2015 includes all-time greats Ricky Charles (men’s soccer, 2002-04), Shay Slater Norris (softball, 2004-08), Anna Novo (women’s tennis, 2005-09), Luke Payne (men’s basketball, 2004-08) and Angie Gambrell Russell (volleyball, 1986-90) into its Athletics Hall of Fame. Anyone wishing to attend the Hall of Fame induction ceremony can purchase tickets in advance by Monday in the athletic office or by calling Nathan Dixon at (864) 503-5865. Tickets can be purchased for $20. A final count for the banquet must be submitted by Monday.

With the induction of the Class of 2015, the Hall will increase its size to 75 members covering the sports of baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, men’s golf, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s tennis, women’s tennis and volleyball. If you would like to nominate a former student-athlete, coach or administrator for induction into the Athletics Hall of Fame at USC Upstate, please email Bill English at

Follow the Spartans on your mobile device, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube.