Kolesnitchenko Named to A-Sun Academic All-Conference Team

March 13, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Anastasia_KolesnitchenkoMacon, Ga. – USC Upstate junior mid-distance runner Anastasia Kolesnitchenko was a unanimous choice for the Atlantic Sun Women’s Indoor Track and Field Academic All-Conference Team, it was announced this afternoon by the league office.

Kolesnitchenko earns her second straight Indoor Academic All-Conference Team accolade after receiving the honor at the conclusion of last season. She is one of four Upstate female athletes in program history to be voted to the indoor academic team joining Carolyne Chelulei (2012), Jemeli Sang (2012) and Ashley Edmond (2014).

The Boiling Springs native competed in five meets this season for the Spartans and logged two top-10 finishes in both the 800-meter run and mile run. Kolesnitchenko posted her best individual performance of the year at the App State Indoor Open where she finished 5th in the mile run after compiling a time of 5:40.79. She also finished 10th in the 800-meter run at the Buccaneer Track & Field Invitational after completing the event in a time of 2:25.28.

Kolesnitchenko also competed in the distance medley relay four times and was part of the combination with Courtney Bradley, Ashleigh Torres and Molly Bliss that placed 4th at the A-Sun Championships.

Academically, she boasts a 3.705 grade-point average and is a nursing major. Kolesnitchenko was an A-Sun Conference Scholar last season and has been recognized on the A-Sun All-Academic Team twice.

Follow Upstate track and field on your mobile device, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube.

2015 Women’s Indoor Track and Field Academic All-Conference Team
Kree Clark, Jacksonville*
Stormm Phillips, Jacksonville* (Scholar-Athlete of the Year)
Laura Maria-Oja, Kennesaw State*
Alicia Whittle, Kennesaw State*
Barbara Lee Ball, Lipscomb*
Sally Larson, Lipscomb*
Elle Baker, North Florida*
Anastasia Kolesnitchenko, USC Upstate*
Sally Marie Futch, Jacksonville
Samantha Turner, Jacksonville
April Terry, Lipscomb
Lindsay Mumley, Northern Kentucky
* – denotes a unanimous choice