A-Sun Softball Tournament Field Set

May 4, 2015 at 9:12 am

USC Upstate clinched the No. 1 seed in next week’s A-Sun Tournament two weeks ago and clinched the regular season championship outright last week. However, it wasn’t until this weekend that the entire tournament field was set as all six spots have been sewn up for the championship.

The A-Sun Tournament is being hosted by Florida Gulf Coast in Fort Myers, Fla., May 6-9 at the FGCU Softball Complex. All information for the championship can be found online at atlanticsun.org, the official website of the Atlantic Sun Conference.

Upstate and No. 2 seed Lipscomb have earned first round byes, will advance to the semifinal round of the winner’s bracket and will open play on Thursday. The Spartans will face the winner of Wednesday’s game between No. 4 seed North Florida and No. 5 seed Jacksonville. Lipscomb will face the winner of Wednesday’s game between #3 Kennesaw State and #6 Stetson. The tournament is a double elimination format. The winner of the winner’s bracket championship will advance to Championship Saturday.

Upstate has won the last two regular season championships in the A-Sun and will look to add its second A-Sun Tournament title in the last three years. The Spartans won the 2013 A-Sun Tournament to become the first Upstate athletic team to claim a tournament championship and the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. Last year, Upstate went 1-2 in the tournament before earning an at-large berth to the NCAA Tournament. The Spartans have won four A-Sun titles in eight seasons playing in the league, three regular season championships (2008, 2014, 2015) and one tournament title (2013).

Follow the Spartans on your mobile device, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube.