Upstate Picked to Host 2016 A-Sun Tennis Championships

June 16, 2015 at 3:25 pm

Macon, Ga. – The USC Upstate Tennis Complex has been selected as the host site for the 2016 Atlantic Sun Tennis Championships, the conference office announced Tuesday following its annual spring meetings.

The tournament will take place April 22-24 and feature the top six men’s and women’s teams, with the winner earning the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

“We are excited and honored to have the opportunity to host an A-Sun event and bring student-athletes outside the area into Spartanburg,” USC Upstate Director of Athletics Lee Fowler said. “This is a fantastic combination for our school and for the economic development of the community.”

The Upstate men’s team won its final three matches of the 2015 regular season and earned the No. 3 overall seed for its highest seed since joining the A-Sun. The Spartans went on to reach the semifinals of the tournament before falling to No. 2 seed North Florida.

“It is a great privilege to have the opportunity to host the men’s and women’s A-Sun Tennis Championships here in Spartanburg,” USC Upstate head coach Oliver Trittenwein said. “This will be the first time Upstate has been given the honor of hosting the tournament, and I believe the city of Spartanburg will be a great place to host because we have such a great facility and are centrally located within the league. Finally, it is a wonderful opportunity for our current student-athletes to compete on our home courts, and there will be extra motivation and expectations this year to do well during the regular season.”

Expectations on the men’s side will be high heading into the season as the Spartans return all four of their all-conference selections (Rajanvir Dharni, Felix Ewers, Ignacio Garrido, Ramon Simonetti) from 2015.