Shoestring Players’ “The Pursuit of U.S.” Advances to Regional Finals of The Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival

December 8, 2015 at 12:32 pm

The University of South Carolina Upstate is pleased to announce that the Shoestring Players’ production of “The Pursuit of U.S.” has been selected as a regional finalist for the Region IV finals of The Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival.

The regional finals will be held February 2 – 6 at the College of Charleston in Charleston, S.C. The winner will be considered for national awards and recognition by The Kennedy Center.

“The theatre students that make up the company of ‘The Pursuit of U.S.’ are passionate, informed, and eager to continue working on the piece in preparation for our performance at Region IV Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival,” said Lee Neibert, assistant professor of theatre at USC Upstate.

“The Pursuit of U.S.” is one of seven shows that will be performed during the regional finals out of more than 40 productions nominated. This is the second year in a row that the Shoestring Players have been invited to perform at the regional finals having competed earlier this year with their original show, “Memigery.”

“I am so proud of these young theatre artists who represent USC Upstate so well abroad and in our Region,” Neibert said. “To be invited to the Regional festival two years in a row is an honor and speaks to the quality of our theatre department.”

The devised theatre piece “The Pursuit of U.S.” considers the futility and complexity of the American dream through the eyes of several couples in America. The troupe set out to critique various aspects of America in order to discover the obstacles that hinder the pursuit of happiness through humor, drama, and movement. The troupe asks: “what does it take to cut the strings that freedom is bound by?”

The “Pursuit of U.S.” was one of five performances short-listed for the “Best of Fest” award during the International Youth Arts Festival in Kingston Upon Thames in the United Kingdom. The award recognizes the best theatrical performances in the entire festival as voted on by the audiences who attended.

The cast and crew includes: Townsend Reynolds of Charleston, Chauncey Meeks-Owens of Spartanburg, Chris Smith of Goose Creek, Candice Owens of Easley, Stephanie Ibbotson of Greer, Harley Bevill of Greer, Destini Anderson of Moncks Corner, and Anthony Gregory of Boiling Springs.