USC President Pastides Appoints Chancellor Search Committee

January 8, 2016 at 4:17 pm

USC President Harris Pastides appointed a 16-member Chancellor Search Committee to select a new chancellor for USC Upstate. Chancellor Tom Moore announced his intention to step down in August 2015. Moore began his tenure at USC Upstate chancellor on August 1, 2011 and his retirement will cap a 34-year career in higher education.

The Chancellor Search Committee will oversee the national search and is responsible for reviewing applications, conducting interviews with semi-finalists and narrowing the field to those finalists who will be invited to campus.  The group will convene for its first meeting on January 20.

According to Dr. Kim Purdy, chair of the psychology department at USC Upstate and chair of the chancellor search committee, at least three of these individuals will be recommended to USC President Harris Pastides. “President Pastides is ultimately responsible for choosing the new Chancellor. Our goal is to conduct the search in a timely manner that would allow for a new chancellor to be named by the end of the semester, although delays in this type of endeavor are often inevitable.”

The Chancellor Search Committee members include:

Kimberly A. Purdy, Ph.D. (Search Committee Chair)

Department Chair, Psychology

University of South Carolina Upstate


Christopher M. Bender, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry

University of South Carolina Upstate


Ruth L. Cate, Esq.

Attorney and Community Leader


Mary Anne Fitzpatrick, Ph.D.

Vice President for System Planning

University of South Carolina


Lynette M. Gibson, Ph.D., R.N.

Associate Professor of Nursing

Director of Research at the Mary Black School of Nursing

University of South Carolina Upstate


T. Paul Grady, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of History / Chair of the Faculty Sensate

University of South Carolina Upstate


Steve Harvey

President of the University of South Carolina Upstate Foundation


J. Cantey Heath, Jr.

Chief of Staff and Special Assistant to the President

University of South Carolina


Marilyn J. Izzard, Ph.D.

Associate Dean of the School of Education

University of South Carolina Upstate


Toney J. Lister, Esq.

Board Member

University of South Carolina Board of Trustees


Ann Merryman

Assistant Librarian, Archives and Special Collections

University of South Carolina Upstate


Ronald R. Patane

Human Resources Specialist / Chair of Staff Council

University of South Carolina Upstate


J. Frank Rudisill, Ph.D.

Dean of the George Dean Johnson, Jr. College of Business and Economics

University of South Carolina Upstate


Donette Y. Stewart

Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Services

University of South Carolina Upstate


Sandy J. Vang

President of the Student Government Association

University of South Carolina Upstate


Thomas R. Young, III

Chair of the Spartanburg County Commission for Higher Education


For more information, contact Dr. Kim Purdy at (864) 503-5779 or