Sports Turf Crew Picks Up National Award

February 2, 2016 at 8:56 am

Sports Turf WinnersThe Sports Turf Managers Association has announced their annual Field of the Year Winners. Making the prestigious national list is the University of South Carolina Upstate’s Cyrill Softball Stadium, which was selected as the 2015 College Softball Field of the Year.

The USC Upstate Sports Turf Crew was recognized during the 27th annual STMA conference and exhibition in San Diego, Calif., in January.

“Preparing and maintaining Cyrill Stadium happens throughout the course of the year,” said Bruce Suddeth, USC Upstate’s director of building and landscape services. “It’s not just the focus of our attention during softball season, but a part of our campus that receives care throughout the year, as we strive to provide a first-rate playable field for our Spartan Softball team.”

In addition to Suddeth, the USC Upstate Sports Turf Team is comprised of Ben Williams, sports turf manager; Daniel Jackson, Cyrill Stadium technician; Travis Dill, Harley Park technician; David McNair, Howell Athletic Complex technician; James Shull, Howell Athletic Complex technician; and Chris Hawkins, softball coach.

Cyrill Softball Stadium, named for Frank Cyrill whose generous gift made construction possible, is located on the north edge of the campus. The stadium was constructed in stages as the field, dugouts, concrete seating area, and lights were completed for the 2002 season. The press box and stadium seating were added in 2004. The field was renovated in 2012 to improve field drainage and stability by re-grading and re-sodding the field and installing field drainage. During this time, dugout extensions were completed and restrooms were added.

This is the second time that the stadium has received the STMA Softball Field of the Year Award.