Ryan Cornfield, Brittany Starling Named Coca-Cola Student-Athletes of the Year at The Sparty’s 2016 Awards Banquet

April 14, 2016 at 6:00 pm

The USC Upstate Athletic Department held its annual The Sparty’s Awards Banquet presented by Coca-Cola Thursday evening and gave out more than 70 awards to celebrate the accomplishments of the department and its student-athletes in 2015-16. Ryan Cornfield (men’s golf) and Brittany Starling (women’s basketball) received the night’s highest honor in being named the Coca-Cola Student-Athletes of the Year.

In addition to the Student-Athlete of the Year awards, the Spartans honored career achievement with the Dr. Joe Bowman Pinnacle Award. Tucker Beerman (men’s soccer), Brittany Clency (women’s basketball), Ryan Cornfield (men’s golf), Griffin Eubanks (men’s cross country/track & field), Kayla Eversgerd (volleyball), Lexi Gober (volleyball), Brenicke Johnson (women’s track & field), Anastasia Kolesnitchenko (women’s cross country), Ramon Simonetti (men’s tennis) and Brittany Starling (women’s basketball) were honored for career excellence as members of their respective programs.

Cornfield has excelled on the golf course over the last three seasons and has continued that trend so far this year. He has posted four top-10 finishes, along with two top-5 showings, and won individual medalist honors at the Furman Intercollegiate after tying the tournament record at 13-under-par. Cornfield also set a school record at the Furman Intercollegiate by shooting a 64 in the second round. He has tallied 12 rounds under par this season and has a stroke average of 71.48. In the most recent national rankings by Golfstat, Cornfield is ranked 107th as Upstate heads into the A-Sun Men’s Golf Championships next week.

Starling became the first player in school history, and tenth player in Atlantic Sun history, to score 1,000 career points and pull down 1,000 career rebounds. A College Sports Madness Fourth Team All-Mid Major selection, the Sumter, S.C. native was named A-Sun Player of the Week three times during her senior season. She led the league in offensive rebounds, defensive rebounds, total rebounds, field goals and double-doubles, while finishing in the top ten nationally in rebounds and rebounds per game. Starling was the only player to earn First Team All-Conference and All-Academic Team accolades. She concludes her Upstate career as the program leader with 1,120 rebounds and fourth all-time with 1,533 points.

Athletic Department Awards
Coca-Cola Student-Athlete of the Year

Men – Ryan Cornfield, Men’s Golf
Women – Brittany Starling, Women’s Basketball

Dr. Joe Bowman Pinnacle Award
Tucker Beerman, Men’s Soccer
Brittany Clency, Women’s Basketball
Ryan Cornfield, Men’s Golf
Griffin Eubanks, Men’s Cross Country/Track & Field
Kayla Eversgerd, Volleyball
Lexi Gober, Volleyball
Brenicke Johnson, Women’s Track & Field
Anastasia Kolesnitchenko, Women’s Cross Country
Ramon Simonetti, Men’s Tennis
Brittany Starling, Women’s Basketball

Academic Excellence Award
Men – James Fowlkes, Baseball (3.819 GPA)
Women – Anna Zoske, Women’s Tennis (3.917 GPA)

Outstanding Freshman Award
Men – Gordon Wild, Men’s Soccer
Women – Madison Haake, Women’s Soccer

Outstanding Faculty/Staff Award
Dr. Tom Moore

Team Academic Excellence Award
Men – Tennis, 3.508
Women – Tennis, 3.634

Chi Alpha Sigma Honor Fraternity
Honorees –
Abbie Millete (softball), Alejandro Lopez (men’s golf), Alex Hone (women’s soccer), Alexa Lagaly (volleyball), Lexi Shubert (softball), Amy Szymanowski (softball), Anastasia Kolesnitchenko (women’s cross country), Ashleigh Torres (women’s cross country/track & field), Bessie Mullins (women’s track & field), Brittany Starling (women’s basketball), Ciara Murphy (women’s soccer), Courtney Reilly (women’s soccer), Daniel Fickas (baseball), Ellen Bright (women’s soccer), Emily Koelling (volleyball), Griffin Eubanks (men’s cross country/track & field), Hailey Venable (women’s soccer), Hassan Haddad (men’s soccer), James Fowlkes (baseball), Jamie Yates (men’s tennis), Javon Gates (volleyball), Josh Jenkins (men’s soccer), Kenzie Major (women’s soccer), Kyle Juell (men’s soccer), Lindsay O’Steen (softball), Malika Allie (women’s golf), Molly Bliss (women’s cross country/track & field), Rachel Baylor (women’s soccer), Rajanvir Dharni (men’s tennis), Ramon Simonetti (men’s tennis), Raven Jefferson (women’s basketball), Ryan Rector (softball), Sam Moss (men’s soccer), Trey Taylor (men’s golf), Shannon Weiss (volleyball), Theodore Kountourogiannis (men’s cross country/track & field), Travonda Haddock (women’s basketball)

Student-Athlete Advisory Committee Leadership Award
Brittany Starling, Women’s Basketball
Alexa Hone, Women’s Soccer

Leadership Award
Malika Allie, Women’s Golf
Brittany Clency, Women’s Basketball
Lexi Gober, Volleyball
Alexa Hone, Women’s Soccer
Kaleigh Kelley, Volleyball
Sebastian Lopez Bulla, Men’s Golf
Ryan Rector, Softball
Brittany Starling, Women’s Basketball

Sportsmanship Award
Men – Alex Love, Men’s Cross Country/Track & Field
Women – Kayla Eversgerd, Volleyball; Ryan Rector, Softball

Spartanburg Regional Sports Medicine Award
Michael Buchanan, Men’s Basketball

Conrad Award for Strength & Conditioning
Men – Ramon Simonetti, Men’s Tennis
Women – Brittany Starling, Women’s Basketball

Wilde Soccer Endowed Scholarship Recipient
Men – Lukas Sommer
Women – Jade Hudson

Dr. Joseph C. Bowman and Deanna Bowman Endowed Scholarship Recipient
Emily Koelling

Josh Lee Memorial Scholarship
Dorian Jones

Spartan Heart Award – SAAC
Men – Alex Love, Men’s Cross Country/Track & Field
Women – Shannon Weiss, Volleyball

Most Improved Team – SAAC
Women’s Basketball

Helping Hands Award – SAAC
Men – Alexa Hone, Women’s Soccer

Best Action Photo Award – SAAC
Men’s Soccer

Coaches Heart Award – SAAC
Men – Scott Halkett, Men’s Soccer
Women – Natalie Smith, Cross Country/Track & Field

Spartan 300 Award – SAAC
Women’s Tennis

Team Awards
– Will be announced after the season

Men’s Basketball
Most Outstanding Player – Michael Buchanan

Women’s Basketball
Most Valuable Player – Brittany Starling, Travonda Haddock, Brittany Clency, Kristen Dickerson

Men’s Cross Country
Most Valuable Performer – Griffin Eubanks
Coaches Award – Theodore Kountourogiannis

Women’s Cross Country
Most Valuable Performer – Ashleigh Torres
Coaches Award – Anastasia Kolesnitchenko

Men’s Golf

Most Valuable Player – Ryan Cornfield

Team Player Award – Sebastian Lopez Bulla

Women’s Golf

Most Valuable Player – Payton Culler

Team Player Award – Sidney Dermody

Men’s Soccer

Offensive Most Valuable Player – Gordon Wild

Defensive Most Valuable Player – Tucker Beerman

Women’s Soccer

Most Valuable Player – Alexa Hone

Players’ Player Award – Rachel Baylor


Offensive Player of the Year – Ryan Rector

Defensive Player of the Year – Holly McKinnon

Men’s Tennis

Most Valuable Player – Ramon Simonetti

Most Improved Player – Lenhard Haupt

Spartan Award – Ignacio Garrido

Women’s Tennis

Most Improved Player – Vale Zarama

Spartan Award – Ruby Kubac

Men’s Indoor Track & Field

Track Athlete of the Year – Dorian Jones

Field Athlete of the Year – Desman Martin

Coaches Award – Patrick Jamison

Women’s Indoor Track & Field

Track Athlete of the Year – Brenicke Johnson
Field Athlete of the Year – KeAndrea Ladson

Coaches Award – Kayla Jordon

Men’s Outdoor Track & Field

Will be announced after the completion of the season

Women’s Outdoor Track & Field

Will be announced after the completion of the season


Spartan Award – Kayla Eversgerd, Emily Koelling

George Gaines Heart Award – Lexi Gober, Shannon Weiss


Spartan Pride Award – Rebecca Liles

Spartan Achievement Award – A’Kierrah Marshall

Spartan Leadership Award – Kiarra Green

Follow the Spartans on your mobile device, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube.