Joel Bunting Selected to ASUN All-Freshman Team

November 2, 2016 at 2:54 pm
Joel Bunting

Joel Bunting

LakePoint, Ga. – USC Upstate forward Joel Bunting was recognized by the ASUN Conference as one of 12 players to be named to the All-Freshman Team, it was announced this afternoon by the league office.

Bunting is the fifth Upstate men’s soccer player in program history to be selected to the ASUN All-Freshman Team joining Gordon Wild (2015), Heiko Allmendinger (2014), Lukas Sommer (2014) and Dave Musambi (2011).

A native of Charleston, S.C., Bunting finished his freshman season leading the Spartans in both goals and points, while ranking second in shots and shots on-goal. He started in all 13 games this season, and registered nine points on four goals and one assist. The forward also attempted 24 shots on the season including 15 on-goal.

Bunting ranked tied for ninth in the ASUN in goals and tied for 11th in points. He scored the first two goals of his collegiate career during a 4-1 win over Gardner-Webb on Sept. 10, while dishing out one assist in the contest. Bunting also had goals against Appalachian State on Sept. 13 and Lipscomb on Oct. 8.

Bunting is the second Upstate men’s soccer player this year to earn postseason recognition from the league. On Tuesday, Sommer was named the ASUN Scholar-Athlete of the Year and also earned a spot on the All-Academic Team.

ASUN First Team All-Conference

Paul Ladwig, GK, Stetson
Nicolas Samayoa, FGCU
Joe Kerridge, D, Lipscomb
Jay Bolt, D, North Florida
Kamar Marriott, MF, FGCU
Ivan Alvarado, MF, Lipscomb
Joshua Castellanos, MF, North Florida

Albert Ruiz, F, FGCU
Arion Sobers-Assue, F, FGCU*
Logan Paynter, F, Lipscomb
Adrian Nunez, F, North Florida
* – Denotes a unanimous selection

ASUN Second Team All-Conference
Juanes Fajardo, GK, North Florida
Eli Roubos, D, FGCU
Scout Monteith, D, Lipscomb
Victor Kausch, D, NJIT
Simen Solstad, D, North Florida
Dylan Sacramento, MF, FGCU
Alberto Escobedo, MF, Jacksonville
Micah Smoak, MF, North Florida
Luke Ferreira, MF, Stetson
Ivan Sakou, F, Lipscomb
Mamadou Guirassy, F, NJIT
Milan Kovacs, F, North Florida
** – A tie in voting led to 12-man Second Team All-Conference

ASUN All-Freshman Team
Adrian Nunez, F, North Florida*
Miguel Perez, MF, FGCU*
Kai Bennett, MF, Jacksonville*
Rene White, F, NJIT*
Gabriel Diniz, F, Stetson*
Shak Adams, F, FGCU
Jared Brown, GK, FGCU
Austin Eager, D, Lipscomb
Andrew Nino, MF, NJIT
Victor Pujades, GK, NJIT
Cormac Begley, MF, North Florida
Joel Bunting, F, USC Upstate
* – Denotes a unanimous selection
** – A tie in voting led to 12-man All-Freshman Team

Player of the Year:  Albert Ruiz, FGCU
Goalkeeper of the Year:  Paul Ladwig, Stetson
Defensive Player of the Year:  Jay Bolt, North Florida
Freshman of the Year:  Adrian Nunez, North Florida*
Coach of the Year:  Derek Marinatos, North Florida