Michael Buchanan Selected ASUN First Team All-Conference

February 27, 2017 at 9:43 am

Michael Buchanan

LakePoint, Ga. – USC Upstate senior center Michael Buchanan was named First Team All-Conference by the league’s head coaches on Sunday afternoon as the ASUN Conference announced its men’s basketball postseason awards.

Buchanan becomes the third Upstate men’s basketball player in program history to be voted First Team All-Conference, joining former Spartans Ty Greene (2014-15) and Torrey Craig (2011-12, 2012-13, 2013-14).

The Las Vegas, Nev. native played in all 31 games this season for Upstate and registered 19 starts. He led the team in both scoring and rebounding with 16.2 points and 9.5 rebounds per game, both of which are career-highs. Buchanan ranked second in the ASUN in field goal percentage and rebounds per game, and was ninth in scoring and 11th in blocks per game. He also finished in the top 15 nationally in field goal percentage, offensive rebounds per game and rebounding.

Buchanan scored in double-figures 26 times this season including 12 with 20 or more points. He grabbed 10 or more rebounds 15 times and compiled 13 double-doubles. Buchanan scored a season-high 29 points against Florida Gulf Coast, and pulled down a career-high 15 rebounds three times against Auburn, Colgate and NJIT. He finished the year scoring over 20 points in five straight games.

He was also named ASUN Player of the Week three times this season.

Buchanan and the fourth-seeded Spartans begin ASUN Men’s Basketball Championship play on Monday evening at 7 p.m. when they host No. 5 seed Kennesaw State from the G.B. Hodge Center.

ASUN First Team All-Conference
Dallas Moore, G, North Florida*
Garrison Matthews, G, Lipscomb*
Brandon Goodwin, G, FGCU
Kendrick Ray, G, Kennesaw State
Michael Buchanan, C, USC Upstate

ASUN Second Team All-Conference
J.R. Holder, G, Jacksonville
Aubrey Williams, F, Kennesaw State
Rob Marberry, C, Lipscomb
Damon Lynn, G, NJIT
Derick Newton, F, Stetson

ASUN All-Freshman Team
Wajid Aminu, F, North Florida*
Garrett Sams, G, North Florida*
Anthony Tarke, G/F, NJIT*
Tanner Rubio, G, Jacksonville
James Scott, G, Kennesaw State
* – Denotes a unanimous decision

Player of the Year:  Dallas Moore, North Florida
Defensive Player of the Year:  Demetris Morant, FGCU
Newcomer of the Year:  Brandon Goodwin, FGCU*
Freshman of the Year:  Wajid Aminu, North Florida
Coach of the Year:  Joe Dooley, FGCU