“Let the Right One In” Earns Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival Nominations

October 20, 2017 at 1:04 pm

The University of South Carolina Upstate is pleased to announce nominations for the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival for Region IV for the Shoestring Players’ production of “Let the Right One In.”

Student nominees include: Joseph Richer of Waxhaw, N.C., Irene Ryan Award; Jordan Montemayor of Piedmont, Irene Ryan Award; Kelly Crisp of Inman for stage management; Alyssia Chaplin of Inman for dramaturgy; and Jillian Wain of Boiling Springs for allied designs and technologies – makeup.

Faculty nominees include: Jimm Cox, professor of theatre at USC Upstate, faculty director; and Barry Whitfield, USC Upstate theatre manager and adjunct instructor, faculty scenic design. Winners will be named in February during the annual KCACTF Region IV festival.

“Let the Right One In,” adapted by Jack Thorne from a novel and screenplay by the Swedish writer, John Ajvide Lindqvist, is the story of Oskar, who is a sensitive and bullied boy who lives with his mother. He and his new neighbor, Eli, a unique young girl, strike up an initially reserved friendship. As they gradually form a close bond, it becomes apparent that she is far from ordinary. As she reveals her macabre secret, the audience discovers her connection to a series of bloody murders.

Cox first saw the play in London and said he was stunned he wasn’t seeing it performed in other places. He and Barry Whitfield, found the show’s producer Olivier-award-winner Marla Rubin. After an email exchange, several phone conversations and a meeting at Earls Court in London, Cox was granted the rights to direct the show at USC Upstate.

The show, performed Oct. 5-7, opened for the first time Oct. 5 at USC Upstate and also in Australia and Mexico. Cox is in his 45th year of teaching in the University of South Carolina System, having taught the past 42 years at USC Upstate. His leadership of the theatre program has earned it national and international recognition and fostered collaboration with The Rose Theatre and as a participant in the International Youth Arts Festival.